The Ramakrishna Math, Kankhal was established in December 1980, after the bifurcation of Sevashrama into a Math and a Mission Centre. Thus, the temple, Sadhu Niwas and the Agricultural farm came under the domain of the Math. The first President of the Order, Swami Brahmananda, lovingly called Raja Maharaj (flash his photo) visited the Sevashrama in 1903 and stayed here for nearly a month.
He again visited Kankhal in March 1912, with Swami Turiyananda, Swami Shivananda, Swami Achalananda of Varanasi, Ramlaldada and spent for about seven months here. Raja Maharaj organised the Durga Puja in the image and all prominent Sadhus of Haridwar (for whom it was a new experience), attended this Puja amidst a blissful and serene atmosphere.
Swami Vireshwaranandaji, the tenth President of Ramakrishna Order, consecrated this new Temple on 13th April 1972, which replaced the old temple built three decades ago, The temple dedicated to Bhagawan Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa is a universal temple in the sense that all people, irrespective of religion, caste, creed race, sex, and nationality are welcome here. They can participate in the worship, bhajans, arati, etc., or engage themselves in silent prayer or mediation. This temple is a place where anyone who needs a favorable atmosphere to dive deep into oneself through meditation or prayer or vichara (self-inquiry).